»New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC)

»New Mexico Public Education Commission (PED)

New Mexico Public Regulation Commission

montoyaKaren L. Montoya, Chair
Commissioner – District 1

1120 Paseo De Peralta
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
(505) 827-8015

New Mexico Public Regulation Commissioner Karen L. Montoya represents the state’s most densely populated area, including most of Albuquerque and a portion of Rio Rancho. Before joining the PRC, Commissioner Montoya served two terms as Bernalillo County Assessor, and holds the distinction of being the first woman elected to that office. There, she handled complex property matters related to agricultural valuation, real estate appraisal, commercial valuation and assessment administration, among other things.

Prior to becoming an elected official, Commissioner Montoya was employed as a state-certified appraiser for 15 years, working at the New Mexico Property Tax Division and the Bernalillo County Assessor’s Office. During her time in state and local governments, she was chair of the New Mexico Valuation Protest Board. She also served as chair of the New Mexico Association of Counties Property Tax Task Force from 2008 to 2009, and as vice-chair of the New Mexico Association of Assessing Officers from 2007 to 2009.

Throughout her career, Commissioner Montoya has made it a personal priority to maintain trust, accountability, integrity and transparency at every level.  As a member of the PRC, she will continue to bring that high level of service to the people of New Mexico.

Commissioner Montoya is a native New Mexican and a resident of Albuquerque.  She has two daughters.  She was sworn in as a PRC commissioner on Jan. 1, 2013.

120x145_valerieValerie Espinoza
Commissioner – District 3

1120 Paseo De Peralta
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
(505) 827-4533

Commissioner Valerie Espinoza began her term representing District 3 at the PRC in January 2013.  She is currently serving as Vice-Chair. As PRC Commissioner, she became a member of the National Association Regulated Utility Commissioners and was appointed to represent New Mexico on the Utility Marketplace Access and Energy and Environment subcommittees.  Prior, she served as Santa Fe County Clerk from 2004 to 2012.  In her two terms as County Clerk she was instrumental in bringing the polling locations into compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  During her career, Espinoza spent five years working for the New Mexico Secretary of State and 20 years at Los Alamos National Laboratories in different administrative support roles to federal agencies, including the Department of Energy.  Valerie earned her Bachelor of Arts from the College of Santa Fe in Organizational Psychology (1997) and has an Associate of Applied Science from Northern New Mexico Community College in Human Services (1993).  She is a Certified Public Official, completing this certification through New Mexico State University County College.


lovejoyLynda Lovejoy, Vice-Chair
Commissioner – District 4

1120 Paseo De Peralta
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
(505) 827-8019

Commissioner Lynda Lovejoy won the primary election on June 3, 2014 and ran unopposed in the general election.  As a newly-elected commissioner installed on January 1, 2015, she represents District 4, which is the northwest quadrant (serving counties of Cibola, McKinley and San Juan, and part of Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Socorro, Sandoval and Santa Fe counties) of New Mexico, the state’s most important region for energy and electricity.  It is the source of most of the coal and natural gas that fuel the power plants.  Energy and the jobs it creates is a vital component of the economy and quality of life in District 4.  This district has characteristics of small farms, ranching, small towns and isolated communities that are poorly served.  In these areas, many residents still do not have the luxury of having a telephone, running water, electricity, adequate health care, paved roads and reliable transportation.  The State of New Mexico’s economic wellbeing and economic health depends upon continued essential modern, reliable and affordable services to ensure opportunities to every household family regardless of where they live.

As a seasoned public servant for 24 years, Commissioner Lovejoy brings to the PRC extensive experience, education and quality leadership and management skillsets that will enable her to be a strong advocate for instituting professionalism, effectiveness, efficiency and streamlining processes with both the administration of PRC agency and utility case management system.  She is committed on being a proactive and visionary leader in harnessing regulatory models that offer new approach and modern systems to ensure retail ratepayers and utility industries are served in the most professional manner to keep pace with changing needs.

From 1999-2002, Commissioner Lovejoy was one of first five elected commissioners to serve on the newly created Public Regulation Commission, a replacement of two merged agencies, former State Corporation Commission and former Public Utility Commission.  She was re-elected and served as commissioner from 2003-2006.



jonesSandy Jones
Commissioner – District 5

1120 Paseo De Peralta
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
(505) 827-8020


New Mexico Public Education Commission

District 3
Carmie Lynn Toulouse

ToulouseCarmie4053 Simms Ct. SE
Albuquerque, NM 87108

Phone: (505) 350-2373

Carmie Lynn Toulouse won the District 3 seat, representing part of Bernalillo County, in the general election on November 6, 2012 and was sworn into office on January 1, 2013. Her term runs through 2017.

District 4
James F. Conyers, District 5

JamesFConyers1020 Chaparral Street
Bloomfield, NM 87413

Phone: (505) 632-2419
Cell: (505) 516-2270

James F. Conyers won the District 5 seat, representing McKinley, San Juan, and parts of Rio Arriba and Sandoval Counties, in the general election on November 6, 2012 and was sworn into office on January 1, 2013. His term runs through 2017.

District 6
Gilbert Peralta 

GilbertPeralta812 Foster Lane
Socorro, NM 87801

Phone: (575) 517-9069

Gilbert Peralta won the District 6 seat, representing Catron, Cibola, Grant, Hidalgo, Luna, Socorro, Sierra, Valencia, and parts of Doña Ana and Bernalillo Counties in the general election on November 2, 2010 and was sworn into office on January 1, 2011. His term runs through 2014.

District 7
Patricia Gipson


Patricia Gipson won the District 7 seat, representing parts of Doña Ana and Otero Counties, in the general election on November 4, 2014 and was sworn into office on January 1, 2015. Her term runs through 2019.

District 9
Carolyn Shearman, Chair

CarolynShearman2716 Heath Rd.
Artesia, NM 88210

Phone: (575) 746-6837
Cell: (575) 703-8394

Carolyn Shearman won the District 9 seat, representing Curry, Eddy, Lea, Harding, Roosevelt, Quay, and part of Chaves Counties, in the general election on November 6, 2012 and was sworn into office on January 1, 2011. Her term runs through 2017. She is serving her second term.

District 10
Jeff Carr

JeffCarrPO Box 313
Eagle Nest, NM 87718

Phone: (575) 377-7012
Cell: (575) 770-0335

 Jeff Carr won the District 10 seat, representing Colfax, Taos and parts of Rio Arriba and Santa Fe Counties, in the general election on November 6, 2012 and was sworn into office on January 1, 2011. His term runs through 2017. He is serving his second term.