DPNM to Send Diverse Delegation to Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia


NEW MEXICO  – The Democratic Party of New Mexico will send a diverse delegation to the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia next week, where New Mexico will be represented by 43 delegates. The Democratic National Convention begins Monday, July 25, 2016.

The New Mexico delegation ranges in age from recent high school graduates to a 93-year-old World War II Veteran, members of the LGBT community and consists of a majority minority which stands in stark contrast to the lack of diversity at the Republican National Convention last week.

“The Democratic Party of New Mexico is proud to have such a diverse delegation to represent our state at the Democratic National Convention this year. I congratulate each of our delegates for their hard work and thank them for taking on this important responsibility. The Democratic National Convention is where we will choose our nominee to be the next President of the United States, and kick off a successful general election,” said Debra Haaland, Chairwoman of the Democratic Party of New Mexico.

The Democratic Party of New Mexico completed its selection of 43 delegates that will attend and participate in the Democratic National Convention in June. Of the 43 delegates, 34 were elected at conventions throughout the state, and the remaining nine are designated as unpledged delegates, also known as “superdelegates”.

The delegates chosen to represent New Mexico at the national convention elected DPNM Chairwoman Debra Haaland to serve as the delegation chair in Philadelphia. The delegation chair assists staff with logistical details as well as announces the New Mexico delegation votes at the convention.

In addition to the delegates elected at DPNM district and state conventions, three other New Mexicans will serve on the Democratic National Convention’s standing committees: Platform, Rules, and Credentials Committees. The list of delegates chosen at district and state conventions and committee members is below:

Carla Arellanes, San Miguel County

Sara Attleson, Bernalillo County

Nicole Bagg, Doña Ana County (Standing Committee)

Seamus Berkeley, Taos County

Kathleen Burke, Bernalillo County

Ricardo Carlos Caballero, Bernalillo County

Eleanor Chavez, Bernalillo County

Priscilla Chavez Doña Ana County

Diane Denish, Bernalillo County

Gina Dennis, Bernalillo County

Steve Duffy, Lincoln County

John Dyrcz, Bernalillo County

Teva Gabis-Levine, Bernalillo County

André Gonzales, Doña Ana County

Michael Huerta, Doña Ana County

Kristine Jacobus, Bernalillo County

Brian Lee, McKinley County

Denise Lee, Santa Fe County (Standing Committee)

J.D. Mathews, Bernalillo County

Joseph McCaffrey, San Miguel County

John Meade, Santa Fe County

Tarin Nix, Los Alamos County

Davena Norris, Doña Ana County

Diana Orozco-Garrett, Santa Fe County

John Padilla, Bernalillo County

Rusty Pearce, Doña Ana County

Nicole Renee Peters, Taos County

Marcus Porter, Bernalillo County (Standing Committee)

Charles Powell, Bernalillo County

Timothy Raftery, Chaves County

Patricia Roybal Caballero, Bernalillo County

Trish Ruiz, Lea County

Twana Sparks, Grant County

Dylan Stafford, Bernalillo County

Donna Swanson, Otero County

Sally-Alice Thompson, Bernalillo County

Rita Triviz, Doña Ana County

Theresa Trujeque, Sandoval County

Stephen Verchinski, Bernalillo County

Sheryl Williams-Stapleton, Bernalillo County